Website Under Maintenance - will be updated soon!
Cart 0

1976 Supreme Court Justices Signed First Day Cover. Burger Court.

$ 1,500.00

Your chance to own a unique piece of American history,offered here is a Freedom of Assembly First Day Cover autographed by the Nine members of the United States Supreme Court. This fully original, postmarked March 5, 1976.

Each Justice has autographed the First Day Cover in vintage ink. The nine autographs are: Warren E. Burger (the Chief Justice d.1995), Lewis F. Powell Jr.(d.1998), Thurgood Marshall (d.1993), Harry Blackmun (d.1999), William H. Rehnquist  (d.2005), Potter Stewart (d.1985), William J. Brennan (d.1997), John Paul Stevens and Byron White (d.2002). 

The Burger Court issued so many monumental rulings during the 1970's, such as Regents of the University of California v. Bakke ,upholding affirmative action and allowing race to be considered in educational admissions. However, its most controversial ruling came in the 1973 decision of Roe v. Wade. Tackling the issue of abortion, the Court held that the right to privacy, under the Due Process Clause of the 14th Amendment, should be extended to a woman's decision to have an abortion,balancing that right with protecting a woman's health and potentiality of human life.

Unfortunately all of these justices with the exception of Stevens are no longer with us, but their legacy lives on through their legal writings. This wonderful keepsake, now over 40 years old, serves as a reminder of a bygone era and perhaps a more tumultuous time in our social history. Tailor made for a law office or another jurist's den at home. 

Share this Product

More from this collection